Testimonial Star Rating - 7319741
by Erica S. - 6/28/2020
This place is great! I have been twice and everything I have ordered, and tried has been amazing. The service is top notch. The calamari is the best I've ever had. I hope we all survive COVID for a chance to return.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7290205
by Kitty Parsons - 6/13/2020
The atmosphere was cozy & romantic. Food was excellent. Singer was awesome!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7284143
by susan deluca - 6/6/2020
Excellent service , excellent dinners ..Tuscan shrimp perfect , grouper perfect ! Calamari so delicious ! We will be back !
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7284142
by Linda Komondy - 6/6/2020
Great service and delicious food.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7287500
by Ken B. - 6/5/2020
Food was delicious and flavorful . It is pricey and the portions were a little small for the price. But over all enjoyed the over all experience and live band . Will definitely make this a regular on my port Charlotte list .
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7272668
by Lynette McKenzie - 5/28/2020
Great food great friends
Go to Testimonial on Google
Can’t wait to go back.
Testimonial Star Rating - 7285450
by M6117LVjohnm - 5/25/2020
I had dinner at the Restaurant with my family in February. We were a table of 6. We started out with lots of apps. We got the brussel Sprouts, Tunisian Hummus, Asian Pork Belly, Shrimp Brushetta, Chicken liver pate and the Tuna Nachos. All were phenomenal.Our server was pleasant and attentive. Our meals were over the top delicious . The music was delightful. I have eaten at this establishment under the previous ownership and was a little leary that the quality of the food and the atmosphere would not be the same. I was wrong. I highly recommend the Grill at 1951. Kudos to the new ownership for keeping the Jazz alive. This is one of our favorite restaurants to frequent every time we are in the area. Can NOT wait to go back!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 7274108
by Christopher P. - 5/24/2020
Great dinner last night with friends! Seared ahi tuna nachos were delicious and bursting with flavor and texture- try them! Everyone enjoyed their entrees and the opportunity for ordering small plate versions was a welcome addition. Very nice wine selection. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, they made us feel welcome and relaxed. We all commented on the bar area rennovations- the divider wall and glass made the bar area feel cozier and made for a nice delineation from the main dining area. We especially enjoy the flat screens that show a changing variety of art work. It's unique for our area and is entertaining without being distracting. The new owner is carrying on the tradition of live music, Bill and Doug put on a nice performance last night (as always!) We always enjoyed this establishment when it was JD's, we like it even more now. If you haven't been here under the new ownership, you should make it a point to stop in- it might become your new favorite place!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Great food and amazing experience!
Testimonial Star Rating - 7269325
by GordonEger - 5/22/2020
While this is my Dad, I’m writing a very honest review of his restaurant. The Grill at 1951 is hands-down one of the best restaurants I have eaten at…. ever! You’ve outdone yourself Dad. Food, atmosphere, and everything was great. While I normally listen to a different type of music, it was a wonderful experience to listen to the jazzier music with piano, guitar and bass…. Tony Boffa as I recall was fantastic and had a great on-stage personality to boot. Everyone in the restaurant was having a blast. Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to get back to Florida for another great ‘supper club’ experience. I’m super proud of my Dad. I highly recommend to try it out!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 7272669
by Laura O. - 5/21/2020
We're happy to support one of the few non-chain restaurants in Port Charlotte. Great food, martinis and live music!! Try the pork osso bucco and jazzy mussels. And of course, several martinis.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
The Grill at 1951
Testimonial Star Rating - 7269326
by O2568OFangelar - 5/20/2020
The food at the grill at 1951 is fantastic. It's a must do in Port Charlotte!! And you will be back!!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 7279248
by Peter D. - 5/19/2020
In our first foray into dining out since the start of Covid-19 we went to the Grill at 1951. Our waiter Chad was excellent as was our dinner. We started with the shrimp brochette which was very tasty indeed. My wife had a salad and followed by Tuscan Shrimp and I had the Lobster Bisque followed by the Roasted Duck. The food was excellent. The presentation was fine. The pace was also fine, even though they let you know upfront with your reservation that they turn tables every hour and 45 min. We never felt rushed. All in all, we were pleasantly pleased to find a restaurant in our area that serves well thought out, beautifully prepared food at a reasonable price with great service to back it up. Well done 1951 team.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7270952
by Christi M. - 5/17/2020
This was second time eating at 1951 and we have been very pleased with food and service. If you love salmon, theirs is cooked to perfection and the coconut rice & grilled veggies with are delicious too! My husband had New York Strip both times and he said it was very good. We love the music on Friday nights as well. So happy 1951 is open again!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7265710
by Donald C. - 5/17/2020
I have been to Grill at 1951 several times now and the atmosphere,food and music is great. Sat with friends who had different dishes and mine and theirs were excellent. We will be back for sure .
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7263669
by Stu E. - 5/15/2020
This is the place for the really great food and Jazz entertainment. Formerly known as "JD's Bistro." It is now under new management (since February 2020). Located right in the center of Port Charlotte on the Trail, plenty of parking, with a great lunch and dinner menu. The food is fabulous, and the prices are right. I have eaten lunch and dinner there a dozen times. Since they have re-opened (per the "reopening"), I have been there. They have the same great chefs. Go there...!!! You will NOT regret it.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259308
by Steven D. - 5/15/2020
I had the fish sandwich and it was phenomenal. It was perfectly cooked. Crisp batter, flaky white fish served on a toasted roll with a tangy tartar sauce. The fries and coleslaw on the side were delicious as well. My server Candice was excellent, she made sure my drink was always full as well as making a few recommendations for what to try next time. Over all a great place to eat, I'll be back
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259309
by Kirstin S. - 5/15/2020
What a great experience! I went here with my boyfriend for dinner last weekend and we had an amazing time. This restaurant is a smart blend of traditional and contemporary. The staff was very friendly and professional. As live music played on the The Grill's stage, we ordered drinks with our Salt & Pepper Calamari appetizer (delicious) before our entrees arrived. I ate up my salmon dish and snuck a few bites of my boyfriend's large plate of shrimp & scallop linguine. Our food was soo good and filling that we took two lava cake desserts home to munch on later. Overall, sincerely well-done and I am eager to head back to the West Coast of Florida to try more items off the menu!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259307
by Darren W. - 5/15/2020
We have been to the old JD's and the new and improved Grill at 1951. The new and improved version really is a class experience. We come for the music which is always great, but occasionally will do a date night meal. Calamari appetizer, lobster bisque, harvest salad, lamb comps were all 5 star quality. Service is amazing, and like I said couple that with amazing live jazz from top notch musicians and you simply can't top this experience in Port Charlotte. Highly recommended.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Go there. The food is great
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259736
by stuFromSarasota - 5/15/2020
This is the place for the really great food and Jazz entertainment. Formerly known as "JD's Bistro." It is now under new management (since February 2020). Located right in the center of Port Charlotte on the Trail, plenty of parking, with a great lunch and dinner menu. The food is fabulous, and the prices are right. I have eaten lunch and dinner there a dozen times. Since they have re-opened (per the "reopening"), I have been there. They have the same great chefs. Go there...!!! You will NOT regret it.
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
We have been to the old JD’s
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259733
by webbdrw1972 - 5/15/2020
We have been to the old JD’s and the new and improved Grill at 1951. The new and improved version really is a class experience. We come for the music which is always great, but occasionally will do a date night meal. Calamari appetizer, lobster bisque, harvest salad, lamb comps were all 5 star quality. Service is amazing, and like I said couple that with amazing live jazz from top notch musicians and you simply can’t top this experience in Port Charlotte. Highly recommended.
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Great food and service
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259734
by bbigmoneyy - 5/15/2020
I had the fish sandwich and it was phenomenal. It was perfectly cooked. Crisp batter, flaky white fish served on a toasted roll with a tangy tartar sauce. The fries and coleslaw on the side were delicious as well. My server Candice was excellent, she made sure my drink was always full as well as making a few recommendations for what to try next time. Over all a great place to eat, I'll be back.
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Classic & Contemporary Restaurant, A True Florida Restaurant Experience
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259735
by kirstinswartz96 - 5/15/2020
What a great experience! I went here with my boyfriend for dinner last weekend and we had an amazing time. This restaurant is a smart blend of traditional and contemporary. The staff was very friendly and professional. As live music played on the The Grill's stage, we ordered drinks with our Salt & Pepper Calamari appetizer (delicious) before our entrees arrived. I ate up my salmon dish and snuck a few bites of my boyfriend's large plate of shrimp & scallop linguine. Our food was soo good and filling that we took two lava cake desserts home to munch on later. Overall, sincerely well-done and I am eager to head back to the West Coast of Florida to try more items off the menu!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
A Good First Impression
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259737
by markcG7084QT - 5/14/2020
This was our first time trying The Grill at 1951 and it won’t be our last. This place appears to be a gem in an area that needs restaurants like this. The service and food were top notch. The food was absolutely delicious. It was so good we had their scrumptious Mississippi Mud Pie. I emphatically urge you to partake of this new restaurant star!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Date Night
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259738
by A8368WWsg - 5/14/2020
Went in on a Wednesday night with my daughter, for a daddy/daughter date night. Made a reservation, just to be safe. Was pleasantly surprised. Great atmosphere, live music. Had Raffy as our server, and she was great! Entire staff made us feel like we were VIP’s. Food was outstanding!! The owner even came to the table and introduced himself. If you are in the area, I highly recommend stopping in for a visit. Some fine dining at its best!!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 7258152
by Adam M. - 5/13/2020
Fantastic! Had the chicken sandwich and it was the best chix sandwich I've ever had! Great service, great food, beautiful atmosphere & ambiance.. what more can you ask for?! The new owner David & company are definitely doing it right! 5 star review
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Absolutely Delicious!!!
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259740
by alenam534 - 5/13/2020
By far some of the best cuisine me and my friends have had in awhile! Highly recommend this restaurant... has all the bells and whistles!!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Live Jazz music while enjoying dinner.
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259741
by HereTodayGoneToRio - 5/13/2020
The atmosphere and the food were both excellent. Both of our dinners, the Faroe Island Salmon and my friends Linguine with Scallops and Shrimp, were awesome! Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. I will go back there for certain soon to try something new from the menu.
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
A Must Dining Experience!
Testimonial Star Rating - 7259739
by 371candacec - 5/13/2020
The Grill at 1951 is a must cuisine dining experience, the food is excellent the service is great and fantastic entertainment a perfect date night any night of the week, the Ambiance is ideal as well I highly recommend the grill at 1951, it is definitely my favorite restaurant in the Port Charlotte area see you soon!??????
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 7256560
by Davis M. - 5/13/2020
Went to The Grill at 1951last evening and had Pork Osso Bucco and can't remember ever having it any better. My friend had Faroe Inland Salmon and described it as "The best Salmon I have ever had". My pork came with all the things I love like mashed potatoes, braised spinach, and seasonal vegetables. Great food, live jazz, and attentive service made for an experience well worth repeating.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7248395
by Angela Rensch - 5/8/2020
Excellent food excellent atmosphere excellent entertainment the staff is wonderful like one big family. Very welcoming and warm. Not overly dressed and stuffy is very casual but yet fine dining.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7245983
by Patricia Wiksten - 5/8/2020
We were looking for something different since carry out is the only option currently. So happy we tried this great restaurant we had a Shrimp Po Boy and Grilled Pita. Excellent! Not only tasty but lots of food at a great price. Candice is informative, extremely helpful and courteous. So great food at a great price and superb service. We will be back. Winner!
Go to Testimonial on Google
LIBATION, GREAT FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT AT ITS BEST!
Testimonial Star Rating - 7251625
by sunny2zmax - 5/6/2020
Had one of our first Corona Virus Dinners at 1951 and was very pleasantly surprised. Social Distancing and Cleanliness to the max BUT still made the evening enjoyable! NOT just because it was one of the first evenings out but the service from waitress Tiffany, Bar tender Scott and the superb entertainer gave a wonderful feeling of EXCELLENT food and entertainment. Will definitely give this restaurant another go!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 7192601
by Mark Cannon - 5/2/2020
It was at the Taste of Punta Gorda we first became aware of this place. The sandwich and gumbo they served was fantastic. We later found out,to no surprise, that they won top prize for the event. So we decided to to try The Grill at 1951 today. We had takeout of course. We were very impressed. My wife had the muffuletta just like at the Taste of Punta Gorda. I had the salmon with risotto rice and seasonal vegetables. The food and presentation was excellent. My wife and I are always looking for new places to eat. Well, thankfully we’ve found a new one.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7192602
by Candace Cannon - 5/2/2020
The food here is absolutely delicious, and the service is fantastic. They truly deliver with great taste, presentation, and portion with their meals. The Grill @ 1951 is a must, cuisine experience that you're sure to enjoy! I highly recommend dining for lunch and or dinner. ?
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7129593
by Ana Oviedo - 4/29/2020
Ordered a 14 oz new your strip steak and it was delicious cooked just the way I wanted it and the price was great, very friendly employees. Will definitely be back
Go to Testimonial on Google
Excellent food
Testimonial Star Rating - 7230284
by anaoA4646EB - 4/28/2020
Had take out, food was excellent employees were very friendly, highly recommend, will definitely visit again!
Go to Testimonial on TripAdvisor
Testimonial Star Rating - 6735626
by Dean Brodie - 3/17/2020
We visited with another couple for a birthday celebration. There was not a single aspect of our evening that was less than excellent. Our waitress, Lisa, took great care of us. The drinks were well made. The appetizers were imaginative and delicious. The generous main courses were equally tasty. Last but not least, the entertainment was perfect complement to the elegant supper club atmosphere. We most definitely will be back!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6730163
by Jeff Bacon - 3/14/2020
Had fun with the band. Good food.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6684891
by Colleen Hansen - 3/7/2020
Best place for grilled food
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6746353
by David E. - 3/7/2020
First place in 'A Taste of Punta Gorda' food show February 2020. Fabulous Food. Jazz and live entertainment. Gormet Sunday Brunch Buffet.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 6679477
by jamie fugett - 3/6/2020
Music was nice,service was good,and food was great..Had a wonderful time..
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6634031
by David Siely - 3/2/2020
Warm welcome, helpful staff excellent food
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6591289
by Scott Rees - 2/28/2020
The bartender Scott was freaking awesome food was better ambiance was very chill
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6550224
by Frank Leblanc - 2/25/2020
Great spot. Incredible staf
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564127
by Stacey D - 2/24/2020
Food and service were outstanding, it's no different then when it was JD'S
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6536312
by Stacey D - 2/24/2020
Food and service were outstanding, it's no different then when it was JD'S
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564128
by Thilo Burkart - 2/23/2020
Friday nights plays the Danny Sinoff Trio - first class swing music. Danny is the best piano player I know.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564129
by Rick Brock - 2/23/2020
Dinner was good, no complaints but nothing special. Appitizer & salad came out together. Mussels were good, caprese salad was good, pasta dishes we're also good but nothing we're looking forward to repeating.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6482059
by Rick Bishop - 2/21/2020
Nice place friendly staff and good food.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564130
by William Dillon - 2/20/2020
Great food and great people. We had the French Dip and the Scallops. Absolutely delicious. Tony was playing solo and the group will start again in March. New owner Dave is making things happen again.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564131
by Christine Hunt - 2/15/2020
We had an amazing experience at The Grill at 1951! It was my boyfriend's birthday, and our server Shannon made the experience unforgettable! She was extremely personable and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was awesome, the music was so much fun, and conveniently there were three other birthdays there that night, including a husband/wife that also sang! Probably the most fun I've had in quite some time! ??
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714004
by Robert and Carol Murray - 2/14/2020
Great place. Remodeled since we last visited very nice clean and the staff cannot do enough for you will definitely go again soon
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564133
by Greg gormley - 2/13/2020
Food was great, service by Shannon was fantastic ! What a great personality she has. Wish I could have given her a 500% tip but I'm just a country boy tryin' ta git bahh.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564134
by Johnny Roberts - 2/9/2020
Lovely renovation of an older jazz club. Foods no more expensive than other upscale restaurants in Port Charlotte. Nice full service bar with 5 or so TV's mounted behind. The restaurant has several giant screen TV's used as digital picture frames which display ever changing artsy pictures. Very nice for table conversing. We both split a wedge salad which was big enough for two and very fresh. My wife had a huge bone-in pork chop with fresh veggies and I had braised pork Osso Bucco with similar veggies. Both our meals were melt in your mouth delicious. My wife's pork chop was ultra tender and my Osso was fall off the bone delicious.. Only issue we had was a mix-up with cocktails being served straight-up instead of on the rocks but that was rectified immediately. Service was excellent and friendly. Would I go back again? Most certainly. Don't want to go to frequently cause this is a nice place for special occasions, don't want to wear it out.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714001
by Jeffrey Tamas - 2/7/2020
?????????? For sure!! The service was outstanding as well as the live entertainment. The food came out perfect for all four of us and we highly recommend this new local establishment! ??
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713994
by Susan Potter-Schuveiller - 2/7/2020
Very eclectic menu. Food was delicious. Service was excellent. Highly recommend.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564138
by Miriam Kleinberg - 2/1/2020
Most excellent... the food, the jazz trio... go there
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713993
by Jeanette - 1/24/2020
Wonderful ambience. Delicious food. Terrific music. (reviewed when it was JD's)
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 6564141
by Aaron Carter - 1/6/2020
If you have a jazzy, attractive and martini state of mind this is your place and look no further, if you are in the Port Charlotte area. They offer an excellent rat pack like theme here. Tables are candle lit with a white table cloth dinning experience. Prepare to be soothed with piano and saxophone musicians while you gaze their expansive list of custom named martinis. Food is excellent too! Location is kind of hidden. It sits off US 41 and neighbors with the Days inn hotel.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713888
by Nyomi Reid - 12/16/2019
Excellent food, excellent service.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714012
by Samantha Poland - 12/16/2019
Great live band, great time!! Food was fantastic!! It was Sunday night, they don't do them often but that was such a great time!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713861
by Eric Christensen - 12/16/2019
This establish has great ambiance and even better food. I order the lamb chops, at every visit.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714011
by Brian Presley - 12/16/2019
Jazz and osso bucco ,add proper adult beverage, and exhale
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713992
by Jesse Parkinson - 12/16/2019
You might have to save up for awhile to afford it, but this place gets Five Stars for the food, Five More for the excellent cocktails and Ten more for the Top Shelf Entertainment. It's a Smooth Jazz Lovers delight.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713874
by Mary Belser - 12/16/2019
Delicious food
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713887
by Irene Gargiulo - 11/16/2019
Excellent food, service, music and atmosphere.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713991
by Don PUKAL - 10/17/2019
This is an awesome room. If U R old pass The food is on the high end. The drinks R on the high end. The performers R awesome. U get what U pay 4. I'll B back.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713894
by Sherill Ryan - 9/17/2019
Creative menu, fantastic service. Enjoyed the music too.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714007
by Lena Tuthill - 9/17/2019
Oh my! Where did I begin my rave review?! My generous portion of salmon was absolutely delectable, perfectly light and flaky, and served with this sublime sauce, I think it was a kind of hollandaise. My asparagus was cooked to perfection as well, tender yet crisp and flavorful. Roasted potatoes were great too. Dessert, a chocolatey layered mousse-type pie with crunchy-crumbly chocolatey crust was served with a couple of fresh blueberries in to-go box, and I thoroughly enjoyed every morsel later at home. The staff were helpful, kind, and friendly. Keep in mind I have no idea about pricing as I was attending a seminar with dinner included and prices were not noted on our menus.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714016
by Sylvia Kelsey - 6/19/2019
Entertainment was great along with the food. Great atmosphere.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713889
by ROBERT SMITH - 6/19/2019
My wife and I had a great meal here. Service and food were great. We will be back. Highly recommend for a nice dinner and some enjoyable music.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713858
by David DaSailor - 5/20/2019
Very nice place. We stopped in for drinks at the bar and we were very under-dressed but the staff and maitre d were awesome. We will definitely be back with our A game on. The drinks and appetizers we ordered were great as was our bartender. Great menu... can't wait to go back.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713903
by Karen Bender - 5/20/2019
Food was excellent! Service was eexcellent. Only complaint is my cocktail wasn't the best but they replaced with another and it was better.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713923
by Harold Wilson - 5/20/2019
I ordered the Chalet in a special way they went out of their way to make sure it was my way??
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713897
by Bill Montrose - 5/20/2019
Shrimp and grits is to die for! Got it to go because I was too tired to clean up for the dine in experience. Wish I’de cleaned up for it. When I picked up my to go order, the piano music in the background made me think of future visits I might enjoy with a loved one. Best presentation I’ve ever had in a to go box, ever. In spite of my shoddy appearance, I was treated like royalty. I will do this again.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713911
by Steve Planeta - 4/20/2019
Excellent food great atmosphere will be back great time music
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713906
by John Manoush - 4/20/2019
We went on a Saturday night to see the incredible Tony Boffa quartet, playing accessible Jazz, Standards & pop music from the 60s to the present. Tony is an accomplished guitarist and singer, as well as an engaging personality. The food and service were also very good - I particularly recommend the pork osso bucco.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713876
by Robin Montesano - 4/20/2019
Amazing food and music!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713868
by brian West - 3/21/2019
Nice place I took my motorcycle endorsement here to get my motorcycle license
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713910
by Sam D - 2/14/2019
You really can’t go wrong here, good food drinks and amazing live jazz. Make sure you check the website and give them a call before you head over in the evenings though because we have got there and they told us the kitchen was closed even though open table took the reservation and their website said the kitchen was open. Still such a great place for a date night or to just relax and listen to some good music.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713920
by Brian Bailey - 2/14/2019
Great atmosphere! Great SERVICE! EXCELLENT FOOD!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713927
by Richard Douglas - 2/14/2019
Good food , upscale place .
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713909
by Shawn Pangburn - 2/14/2019
Wow what a great experience! Excellent food, drinks and service. The Jazz band was incredible! Great place for a reasonably priced meal and great entertainment. Loved the atmosphere here. A+
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713950
by Sandra Lanigan - 2/14/2019
Best food in Charlotte County
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714017
by William Hyer - 2/14/2019
Excellent food and live entertainment. If you like jazz or the tinkling of the ivories on a grand piano, then this is the place for you. Impeccable food as well as service, adjacent to Wyndham Days Inn.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713875
by Jack Murphy - 2/14/2019
Great atmosphere, music & food! The staff is fabulous. Could not be more kind... Expensive. I will go back.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714021
by Becky McLaughlin - 2/14/2019
I would like to compliment David Bell, the new general manager, on the awesome job he has done at turning things around at JD’s! He takes time with each guest making them feel welcome. He’s professional, personable, and fun! It’s obvious he has a great rapport with his staff and the musicians. He seems to be very dedicated to seeing that the music is the best in Southwest Florida which complements Chef Danny Cortes’ food taste and presentation which is phenomenal. David is an asset to JD’s!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713892
by Sal Vig - 2/14/2019
Amazing Jazz ?? music by some pretty famous cats. As well as top shelf food and drink. Casual Polo will work here. Relaxed amazing ?? atmosphere give it a ten plus for that warm feeling out with the lady.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713882
by Joseph Vazzana - 2/14/2019
Excellent place we travel from Ft. Lauderdale periodically to enjoy the food , service and music! We love JD's Bistro
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713938
by cavehermitt Per - 2/14/2019
Good food, people are nice, dark inside
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713918
by Kerry Smith - 2/14/2019
Lovely atmosphere and good food. Great martini selection.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713899
by Mike C - 2/14/2019
Great food and service. The music was perfect in that is was loud enough to enjoy, but we could still have conversations at our table. It's definitely one of the best restaurants in Port Charlotte.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713940
by Toni F - 2/14/2019
Wonderful food service & jazz!! Love the place ??
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713893
by Anita Slater - 2/14/2019
Awesome place! Went for my birthday and the staff was wonderful.. the food is the best. Never disappointed..best place in town. We went on a Thursday evening and the jazz group was amazing. I would highly recommend JD's!!!!!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713869
by David McGrath - 2/14/2019
Not a very enticing presence from the street, being adjacent to, and sharing a driveway with a low-end chain motel. BUT, this restaurant cannot be overlooked in any discussion about the BEST fine dining establishment in the area.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713937
by Jose Ortega - 2/14/2019
Very nice place excellent food and great live music
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713912
by Kami Cross - 2/14/2019
Yes, it's expensive, but the food is fantastic. Love the live jazz. I prefer to eat at the bar. Great service from Andrea!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713877
by Steve Kennedy - 2/14/2019
Very enjoyable!! The staff was attentive and honest. The food was very good and well presented. The music was delightful and allowed conversation at your table.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713878
by Anthony Wright - 2/14/2019
Outstanding and upscale venue. make sure you dress up. live music is always phenomenal. the maitre d is very personable and caring.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713917
by Benjamin Bassuk - 2/14/2019
I ate at the bar, I had ordered, appetizers from the seafood to the steaks, the Entertainment and the staff, I had not felt so comfortable and had a great time while I was eating out alone, I felt there was not one thing I could think of that could have been better! My drink was never empty and my plates where cleared when I finished 1st course so fast I didn't even notice main course in front of me as I was so into Kit entertaining the crowd. I watched the manager holding front door for customers the laughing with them like they know each other 100 years. The bartender was training and I would not have known it was her very first night if she had not told me! She owned that bar, and had us all laughing and joking having a great time. I guess I was blind to that normally uncomfortable feeling when have to eat out alone. I will plan to make Jd's my spot when I need to get my Happy on! Thank you all for that wonderful dinner and truly was a nice time. I am glad to see a local place ," hit it's mark" cause it was all good ! Thank you again Jd's Bistro Crew!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713939
by Shirley Routledge - 2/14/2019
Really an outstanding dining experience.the service, hospitality is second to none!! (And.. beautiful live music toboot!! Our groups favourite was the three tiered seafood appie!! Incredible.... we shared among 4 but would make a wonderful meal for two. We will be back.. I know it is a Jazzclub but the lighting is a little low to see the menus... ..
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714019
by Oz Fisher - 2/14/2019
Upgrade establishment. Nice ambiance with good menu and appropriate prices. Service friendly. But slow
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713936
by Joanna Randolph - 2/14/2019
Excellent food & entertainment! Go early in the evening for the best menu selections!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713879
by Sheila Gordon - 2/14/2019
This is a date night place even though the location might throw you off. The service is very detailed and the food is outstanding.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713907
by Riina McCormack - 2/14/2019
Very popular place. Make a reservation. I'd like to see more lighter fare options on the menu. Excellent service and great entertainment.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713915
by David Flick - 2/14/2018
Wonderful food, fantastic service. Joanna was great! Very knowledgeable about wine, will definitely be back
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713928
by colleen sukloff - 2/14/2018
Awesome food and atmosphere.whod a thunk it in Port Charlotte?!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713905
by Nancy Parry - 2/14/2018
Always great jazz with wonderful food and libations and friendly crowd and wonderful wait staff. Love Lindsay and David who manages.....????????
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713942
by Marianne Nowottny - 2/14/2018
I love the food and wine selection. And especially the fact they have Leffe Belgian Blond beer. But what always brings me in is the jazz. I especially love to see Kitt on Wednesdays
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713873
by Caroline Baden - 2/14/2018
Absolutely the best live Jazz ever!!! Very dark unassuming front, but wait till you open those doors!!! Dress up or shorts and sandals. An amazing place. Food is fantastic! Steaks, burgers , cheese trays, you name it. They even have a venison burger. Always a live band 6 days a week. Staff is fast and friendly. My waiter, Joe was fantastic! Full bar, great wine selection. Large bar to hang out at. What's not to love ??
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713954
by Chirag Patel - 2/14/2018
Great food and service!!!!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713934
by Kim Gasgarth - 2/14/2018
The food is amazing! Definitely try their appetizers!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713951
by Kathy - 2/14/2018
Superb food!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713952
by Marco Services - 2/14/2018
Very nice place
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713944
by James Engel - 2/14/2018
Great food, entertainment, a bit pricey.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713953
by flakita rodrigues - 2/14/2018
is very good
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713947
by Jeannine Manrique - 2/14/2018
Amazing jazz band!!! EXCELLENT food!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713885
by Richard Scalia - 2/14/2018
Great food great jazz what more can you ask for. Marlene just had the best and biggest porkchop of our life I tasted it it was A plus plus. My dinner was Pasta Bolognese wonderful. Kit Moran was great as usual, what a voice.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713922
by Jessica Chenette - 2/14/2018
This place was amazing. The staff and even the entertainment went above and beyond. Our waitress was fantastic. Would recommend.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713904
by Paul Bartolomey - 2/14/2018
I love this place. Great food and great staff. Plus the jazz music is amazing
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713867
by Janet Mahan - 2/14/2018
I love JD's. I feel like I have gone back in time. The food is exquisite and the bands are great! The only tiny flaw is the service is slow but maybe that is part of the plan.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713921
by Ralph Stocek - 2/14/2018
We enjoyed the easy jazz. Musicians were highly skilled, top notch. My osso bucco was very tender and delicious. A good night out.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713948
by Leicia Allegra-Bailey - 2/14/2018
The food, the music, the staff, what is not to love!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713880
by Lisa McAuliffe - 2/14/2018
Absolutely an amazing jazz/dinner dining experience!!! The food is incredible!! We were there a couple of months ago and now last night (apparently under different management now but the chef & band are still the same) and we just wanted to kicked ourselves for not going back sooner!!!! A beautiful bar or dining experience- you cannot go wrong here!!!! The music is extraordinary!!! Jazz, old and new pop songs with a jazz flair. Everyone will enjoy this experience. We will now be a frequent guest!!!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713930
by Teresa Gilruth - 2/14/2018
Excellent. Best filet I've ever had.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713883
by F Shields - 2/14/2017
I highly recommend JD's Bistro & Grille! The presentation is great and the food tastes as good as it looks. But be forewarned: service here, while good, is slow - I believe by intention. They aren't in a rush to get you in and out; dining here is a leisurely affair. And while you wait, you can listen to the live music, which generally varies by the day of the week. Oh, and remember to make reservations if you're going there "in-season." Another reason to like JD's is that the menu seems to change fairly regularly. For many restaurants, if you go back often enough you get to the point you don't have to look at the menu. That isn't a problem at JD's. We'll be going back there again, and soon.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713866
by Yainer Rodríguez Delgado - 2/14/2017
Great service, delicious food... And Judy is a great asset! She is a sweet and lovely lady! Looking forward to listen music and enjoy dinner here again! Best Regards!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713945
by Jake Leach - 2/14/2017
Excellent food. Great atmosphere! Love the live jazz music too!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713935
by Kayla Hemphill - 2/14/2017
the most delicious food, especially in the mornings when there cooking breakfast for days Inn quest
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713926
by Grace Gniazdowska - 2/14/2017
Great food but the entertainment changed. It used to be a standards and jazz place, now i dont like it any more. I dont like rock during dinner. Elegant soothing classy music is actually good for your psyche and even digestion. This crazy music makes me want to leave. I can listen to rock when i feel like dancing. Not during dinner. It's annoying. The place looks nicer than before and the staff is nicer too but 4eally get some standards and jazz in there again. I do not want eat to energetic crazy music.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713884
by Jonathan De Young - 2/14/2017
An amazing place to go. Great music, especially on Saturday's, and delicious food. Highly recommended.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713914
by R J - 2/14/2017
Great place. Don't be fooled by the fact it's attached to a Days Inn. It's a "white tablecloth" restaurant. The food is Top Notch & everything I've eaten here has been superb. The ambience is awesome. Service is fabulous. If you find a better Filet Mignon in this area, then wake yourself up because you're dreaming! THIS IS THE BEST!!!! Bring your wallet because you'll need it. The prices are definitely $$$+. I've been told there is a less pricey bar menu if you just want a more casual/ burger style meal at the bar. When I try the bar menu I'll post a follow up review. The classical jazz musicians performing here have been very good on each of my visits. Treat yourself & try this place out!!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713949
by Don Druart - 2/15/2016
Great trio, good music, excellent food!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714013
by Rated Badge - 2/15/2016
This is the undiscovered gem in Port Charlotte! World class entertainment and food, the food is AMAZING!! Enough said! We will be back again and again.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5714014
by James Tompkins - 2/15/2015
The best food ! If you like Jazz this is the playse. No rush to leave.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713932
by Tracey T - 2/15/2014
I can't believe we've lived for 10 years in Punta Gorda and never been to Jd's until last night. We love Jazz Music and good food, and routinely go to Sarasota or Fort Myers to find it. When JD's was highly recommended for both...we decided to give it a shot. And man are we glad we did. The food was INCREDIBLE. The service was just plain awesome. And the jazz player / musician they have there is by far the best. What a great experience. We won't be making the trip out of town anymore for great food and jazz music.. Out of every place we've been, this was hands down the best. We just can't wait to go back!! What an excellent experience.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 5713919
by J.H. Porter - 2/15/2014
Efficient friendly service, excellent food and reasonable prices. The trio playing was so enjoyable that we lingered for another drink. A great place for a date or anniversary. It's not inexpensive, but it is well worth the money and we were well pleased that we came. If they do this all the time, we highly recommend it.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Star Rating - 5 by 28 raters [Show +]
Star Rating - 4 by 8 raters [Show +]